Diversity Scholarship Winners 2018

2018 Diversity Scholarship winners

Arshvir Dhari

Arshvir is a member of the class of 2018 from David Thompson Secondary School in Vancouver and will be attending SFU this fall. Arshvir is working towards a bachelor’s of science.

Arshvir is involved in many extra-curricular activities. One of his volunteer roles is as a Regional Manager of Kindlers Society, which promotes English education in developing countries. Arshvir helps organize book drives and other fundraisers to support rural schools in need of help. This year, they will be collaborating with Books for Africa, a non-profit organization aiming to improve literacy in Africa. Arshvir and his team will be donating 200 books to a school in Africa, as well as $1,000.

At school, Arshvir is part of the David Thompson Community School Team where he volunteers his time towards organizing and facilitating after-school care programs to teach hockey, pottery and reading. This gives students a great opportunity to explore more of where their interests are.

Saavin Lidder

Saavin has just graduated from Southridge School in Surrey, B.C. and plans to attend the University of British Columbia this fall. Saavin is working towards bachelor's degree in commerce.

Saavin has a strong passion for making the world a more vibrant, diverse and inclusive place. In order to do this, she has taken the step to initiate and lead her school's Mental Health and Wellness Club, which raises mental health awareness, reduces stress and anxiety, and promotes healthy habits. A few events Saavin has organized with her club are art therapy sessions and BC Guide Dog visits.

At school, Saavin was the Marketing and Communications Director for the student-organized Relay for Life. She was responsible for increasing awareness and obtaining sponsors for the event. Relay for Life is sponsored by the Canadian Cancer Society and aims to celebrate survivors, honor those lost, and raise money to support those undergoing treatment. And in the last two years, Saavin and her team raised $200,000 – amazing!

Emily Lam

Emily recently graduated from Dr. Charles Best Secondary School and will be attending Simon Fraser University this fall, working torward a bachelor’s of science.

Emily is the founder and president of Miracle Movement, an initiative she created as part of the national Children’s Miracle Network Dance Marathon to fundraise for BC Children’s Hospital and raise awareness of pediatric health. Every year, her club plans a five-hour dance marathon  at school with the help of various community sponsors in support of BC Children’s Hospital.

Emily is also the student leader of her school’s Me to We Club. She leads the group in planning fundraisers, campaigns and drives for local and global communities. They have raised thousands of dollars to support education and food security in developing countries, organized garbage clean-up days at parks, and helped to empower younger students to speak up on issues they are passionate about.

Heather Lieskovsky

Heather graduated from Penticton Secondary School and plans to attend the University of British Columbia - Okanagan this fall, working toward a bachelor’s of fine arts.

In school, Heather was the chairperson for the Penticton Secondary Diversity Club. This club raises awareness of discrimination issues faced by students with diverse backgrounds. Heather has co-developed and has received approval from School District 67 school board for a Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Policy to reinforce equality among all, leading to better education and care for students. With this organization, students have installed an all-gender washroom in the school, put in rainbow sidewalks in the school’s parking lot, and have held multiple events promoting diversity.

Heather is also the co-founder of V2A Home for Homeless, an annual community fundraiser that aims to help the local homless population. Heather’s group creates small house ornaments from recycled material and sells them for $5, with all proceeds donated to Penticton’s Salvation Army.

Winson Yu

Winson is a member of the class of 2018 from Sir Winston Churchill School in Vancouver and will be attending UBC this fall to study commerce.

Heco-founded the Wigs for Kids Club and the Children’s Hearing and Speech Club, both of which gave Winson the opportunity to give back to his community in the form of raising awareness and monetary funds to support less-fortunate kids.

Winson was also enrolled in the TIE Young Entrepreneurs Program. This is a business program where Winson learnt how to create his own startup from successful entrepreneurial mentors and instructors. With the knowledge that he gained from this program, Winson participated in a local entrepreneurial competition and finished in first place. He came up with a business plan that had a viable revenue model while also solving the major world problem of environmental degradation. As the winner of this competition, Winson competed in the worldwide entrepreneurial competition in Virginia this past June.

Angelina Ge

Angelina is a member of the class of 2018 from Moscrop Secondary School in Burnaby and will be attending UBC this fall to pursue a degree in the sciences.

Angelina is the president of the Sleep Tight Club at her school, which supports and fundraises for underprivileged individuals. She also co-leadi the organization of a school-wide event called Human Library, which aims to break down stereotypes prevalent in society. Through these clubs, Angelina created a community of support and a positive school environment for all students.

Angelina’s contributions to foster change are not limited just to school -- she is very much involved in her community and globally, as well. Her passion for science motivated her to get involved in Project Pulse Vancouver. Angelina is an executive member and currently recruits speakers for over 150 attendees at their annual health science conference. She is also a member of the city’s Youth Voice Committee and influences city decisions, advocates for her peers and works with a dynamic team to implement community projects.

Congratulations to all 2018 Joint Diversity Scholarship winners!